Golden Boy Award 2016

Posted By: Vince Delia In: Soccer News On: Thursday, September 29, 2016 Comment: 0 Hit: 1402

Italian newspaper Tuttosport announced its list of 40 nominees for the 2016 Golden Boy award.

Tuttosport announce the 40 best under-21 players every year at the end of September and have the public vote on who they think is the best young talent. Quite simply, it is like the younger version of the Ballon d'Or. Past winners of the Golden Boy award include Leo Messi, Wayne Rooney, Mario Balotelli and most recently, Anthony Martial. Below is the full list of nominees:

Belgian Jupiler Pro League: Leon Bailey, Youri Tielemans

German Bundesliga: Julian Brandt, Andreas Christensen, Kingsley Coman, Mahmoud Dahoud, Ousmane Dembele, Breel Embolo, Alen Halilovic, Renato Sanches, Jonathan Tah

Croatian Prva Liga: Ante Coric

Dutch Eredivisie: Riechedley Bazoer, Nathan, Jairo Riedewald

English Premier League: Leroy Sane, Dele Alli, Demarai Gray, Marko Grujic, Kelechi Iheanacho, Alex Iwobi, Ruben Loftus-Cheek, Marcus Rashford

French Ligue 1: Gabriel Boschilia, Emmanuel Mammana, Almamy Toure

Italian Serie A: Amadou Diawara, Gianluigi Donnarumma, Gabriel Barbosa, Olivier Nitcham

Portuguese Primeira Liga: Goncalo Guedes, Ruben Neves, Danilo Barbosa

Russian Premier League: Aleksandr Golovin

Scottish Premier League: Moussa Dembele

Spanish La Liga: Marco Asensio, Carlos Fernandez, Lucas Hernandez, Tonny Sanabria

Ukraine: Viktor Kovalenko

Plenty of big names up for the award. Who deserves to win it? We're thinking Marcus Rashford!

Related by Tags


Leave your comment